Challenge Completed – Pretty Much

I haven’t written in a while. I can tell, because when I go a long period of time without getting things off my soul, it feels like a lead weight around my neck! So I thought I would try to get back into the swing of things with a quick post to let you know how I did on my health challenge!

Our challenge wrapped up this past Monday. Twelve weeks of tracking my food, trying to keep to only healthy eating, no eating after 8pm, drinking a minimum of 100ozs of water a day and exercising 5 days a week for 30 minutes.

I lost about 10 lbs. Not exactly what I was hoping for from this challenge, but better than no loss at all! And here’s why!

I was fanatic about exercising – for the first few weeks. Then, as life once again reared it’s pushy head, I injured myself, overloaded my schedule and stressed out. I jostled things around and tried to lose a little stress, yet I was never able to get back on track with that part of the challenge. I did, however, retain a few things I learned. I park out a bit in the  lot when shopping. No matter what I’ve got on my list, I walk at least once around the whole grocery store. I take the stairs, when I can (depending on my knees). It’s not a full blown workout – but it’s what I can do at the moment!

As far as my eating – I tried a lot of new foods, I am much better at getting my veggies in each day and though water intake has never really been an issue for me, I would push to 120 ozs a day. My husband even jumped on board, hoping it would help him with some health issues he’s been having and to lose a bit of the belly he’s been growing. What a huge benefit to have him with me. Heck, he’s even the one pushing to get those veggies in! My biggest issues were the 8pm eating cutoff and cutting sugar from my morning cup of joe! My biggest benefit gained – discovering all the things I can use raw honey for! And trying avocados for the first time!

So while I didn’t reach my goal for the challenge, I did learn a lot about myself. I learned that life happens and it’s OK, but it’s not an excuse. It just is and you have to learn to accept some things and learn to work around others. It’s good to push yourself, but to also understand your limits. I learned that stress “not eating” can be as bad as stress eating.

The biggest plus of this challenge is I didn’t give up. For me  that’s the best reward of all!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fun, Health, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

