One Word for 2016

A couple of years ago, I was introduced to the book “One Word that will change your life”. The book shares the concept of replacing all those annual resolutions and goals with just a single word. One Word that will be your focus through the year, in all aspects of your life – personal, spiritual, relational and professional.

I had initially shrugged of the concept, not really understanding how it would work. Yet I know people who swear by it, and even our church has adopted this concept, so I decided to give it a look-see!

I bought the book and actually found it very interesting. It was around the same time I was working on my 2016 Dream Guide and I was amazed how the two fit so nicely together. The One Word action plan starts with preparing your heart and then discovering your Word and my Dream Guide helped me walk through those activities.

After much soul searching, reflection and prayer – my One Word actually came to me in a dream. No kidding! And then I began seeing it jump off pages at me from different things I was reading – and then it all made sense

My Word for 2016 is…

One of the things I quickly realized as I was soul searching, is that for the past couple of years I have been simply enduring my life. Not unhappy, but not exactly happy either. I feel like I’ve been trudging along, one foot in front of the other, and not really even noticing the scenery along the way. The same thing struck me as I looked at each aspect of my life – my personal life, my relationships, my work, my health and even my faith. Just going through the motions, day after day, with no passion!

I decided that in 2016 I want that passion back! I want to EMBRACE my life. All parts of it! Not running down a list of resolutions, like a check list. I want to be more intentional with my life.  To get excited about things. To allow myself to feel good again! To really LIVE!

What does an intentional 2016 look like for me? It looks like this…

…EMBRACE my marriage!

…EMBRACE my health!

…EMBRACE my relationships with family and friends!

…EMBRACE my job!

…EMBRACE GRACE!

I want to write in more detail about each of these over the next few weeks. One – it helps me to Live Out My Word! Two – it’s a way for me to share how things are going!

For me, living out my One Word means focusing on that word in everything I do. To be intentional in my pursuits! To enjoy my life, not just survive it! To regain the passion I used to have. To love life again! It may not be easy, and I may not succeed in all areas, but I’m excited to push to make this a way of life.

This should be interesting…

If you would like to learn more about the One Word movement, visit http://www.getoneword.com!

This entry was posted in Faith, Fun, Health, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

